1001 Albums #1

Frank Sinatra – In the Wee Small Hours – 1955
Spotify Link

First Listen
Yes

Prior knowledge of this album
The title track

Standout Tracks
In the Wee Small Hours

Afterthoughts
I really like the title track, it’s very cool. However, this is a depressing album, it’s rumored that it was recorded as Sinatra’s marriage to Ava Gardner was failing. All the songs are about loss, lost loves and generally being lonely. Fun stuff.

It’s a real downer to listen to. I’ve been listening to it whilst surfing the web and my mood has slowly dipped to feeling really melancholic and I just want to turn everything off and go to bed!

Despite this, it’s not a terrible album, it does the job it was intended to do – be depressing, and it’s Sinatra, he has a really good voice and I’m looking forward to a much happier Frank in about six albums time.

Hear again
No

Album Entertainment Rating
3 out of 5

One thought on “1001 Albums #1

Comments are closed.