1001 Albums #7

Frank Sinatra – Songs For Swingin’ Lovers – 1956
Spotify Link

First Listen
Yes

Prior knowledge of this album
A few tracks

Standout Tracks
You Make Me Feel So Young
Pennies From Heaven
Love Is Here To Stay
I’ve Got You Under My Skin
Makin’ Whoopee
Anything Goes

Afterthoughts
Frank at his best? Well it’s a much easier listen than the first of the 1001 albums in this list. This is a much happier Frank singing happier songs. Some standards from the American Songbook are featured here, and he sings them in his own, I’d say, perfect style. I love his voice, I’m a fan.

He’s not someone I’d listen to all the time, I’m always on the lookout for new music, so I don’t often go back and listen to things I’ve heard before. I’ve put some of his songs in my ‘I Like These’ Spotify playlist.

The songs I’ve highlighted above should be mostly familiar to a casual fan of Frank, they (like me) won’t always know the correct title, but they could hum the tune or perhaps even sing along.

I really enjoyed this album, there’s nothing horrible here, it feels very much like an album you could play on a Sunday morning and just let it wash over you. Lovely.

Hear again
Yes

Album Entertainment Rating
4 out of 5