1001 Albums #10

Thelonious Monk – Brilliant Corners – 1957
Spotify Link

First Listen
Yes

Prior knowledge of this album
Nothing at all

Standout Tracks
You gotta be kidding me!

Afterthoughts
On a work trip I was once played a Frank Zappa album, and I remarked to the owner of the CD that it sounded like a bunch of six year olds had been let loose in a music room. Well now we have a bunch of three year olds doing it!

I knew there had to be a Jazz album on the list that I would absolutely despise, and this is it. I doubt there will be another album that ‘turned me off’ as much as this one.

Urgh, just awful, it sounds as if the band have got together to record an album, someone accidently hit the fan and all the pages got mixed up, so the band just picked up what was near them and began to play it. At times it really does seem as though there is no connection between the instruments.

If I was ever to be tortured psychologically, then this is album to play if you want me broken, I listened to it on my walk to work and by the time I got to work I felt tired, due to the sheer effort it took to walk and listen to the awful music that was hitting my brain.

If you have Spotify open up the album and listen to track 2, you will see what I mean, the drummer is just hitting the hi-hat, the bass player is enjoying himself and the piano player has let his toddler loose on the keys while he has a coffee break.

I hate it. I hate it. I hate it, make it go away!!!!!!

Hear again
For the love of God No

Album Entertainment Rating
1 out of 5