1001 Albums #14

Little Richard – Here’s Little Richard – 1957
Spotify Link

First Listen
Yes

Prior knowledge of this album
Some of the classic tracks

Standout Tracks
Tutti Frutti
Ready Teddy
Slippin’ And Slidin’
Long Tall Sally
Rip It Up

Afterthoughts
Going through the 1001 is supposed to be an education, so far I know I’m going to struggle with Jazz, on the opposite side I know what I like and when it comes around, my ears are happy.

I don’t think it’s possible to dislike Little Richard. His songs are great, they are the archetypal 1950’s Rock ‘n’ Roll songs; Tutti Frutti, Ready Teddy & Long Tall Sally to name just three.

If you get past the songs and look at his life that is also amazing, if I believe what it’s possible to read on the internet about him, then he has yo-yoed back between Rock ‘n’ Roll and Gospel music, is gay, isn’t gay, is bi-sexual, had wild parties and orgies, consumed vast quantities of drugs and alcohol and this all by his mid-thirties!

I really enjoyed this album, a combination of it not being Jazz! And something I was familiar with. I’m sure you have all heard the songs that stood out to me but if you’ve not heard them in the context of this album then give it a go.

Hear again
Yes

Album Entertainment Rating
4 out of 5

Look at the energy! – This is a live show in France in 1966; Little Richard was 34.