RIP Adam ‘MCA’ Yauch

Like those of a certain age my first introduction to the Beastie Boys was ‘(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party).

I remember there being outrage on the news when the record was released in the UK. I can also remember VW badges being taken from cars when they started wearing them; did they inspire Bros to wear Grolsch bottle tops on their shoes? ‘Cos I remember that too!

I wouldn’t take notice of them properly for another 10 years until the release of ‘Hello Nasty’. It’s still one of my favourite records. ‘Intergalactic’ and it’s Japanese styled video being the best remembered track. However the whole album is filled with cracking songs right from the get go. Beastie Boys – Hello Nasty

Another great track and video from the same album is ‘Three MC’s and One DJ’

I volunteer at a Youth Club and we have four parties a year (Easter, Summer, Halloween & Christmas) and for years I’ve tried to drop in my favourite track….’Sabotage’. It sounds amazing played loud and even though there is a clean version on Spotify, I’m just never sure how it will go across – perhaps the time has come!