6th July – Ilfracombe

Suitably refreshed I carried on to Ilfracombe. I toured the car parks and roads in Ilfracombe before finding the car park overlooking the sea. On my way around the roads of Ilfracombe I found myself heading out of town, and up another hill! In my desperation to find somewhere to turn around, I attempted to turn right into a layby that happened to be on a bend, realising my error of judgement, I cancelled my signal and carried on, finally finding somewhere more suitable at the top of the hill.

As I turned the car around, and waited to pull back onto the road, one of the drivers who I had held up on the steep hill, was keen to show their annoyance at my poor driving, with a loud continuous beep of their horn and some expert hand gestures. All warranted I should add.

Once I had parked up, I went for a wander looking for the ‘sea front’ and saw the theatre, a big hill, the harbour, the shops, the museum, the gardens before ending up back where I started, and then I realised this was the sea front.

I had my first cream tea here, and it was lovely. I think clotted cream is the work of the Devil though, just so moreish.

Following the tea I walked up Capstone Hill, which is where the photo above is taken from.
This is the view down to the sea, I can’t remember if there is a railing, there probably is, in fact I hope there is!A famous feature at Ilfracombe are the Tunnels Beaches. These are two beaches that can be accessed though the cliffs via a series of tunnels. The tunnels were hand carved by Welsh miners in the 1820’s.

There are two beaches; one for men and one for women and children. The beaches were originally segregated but are now of course mixed. From what I could see the larger beach and tide pool is at the Ladies side. When I visited the Mens beach was closed as weddings are held here.

It’ll cost you £2.50 to visit, and while I was only there for a short time, it was obvious that some people had been there most of the day.

The harbourA typical side street