1001 Albums #19 – Ella Fitzgerald / Sings the Gershwin Song Book

Ella Fitzgerald – Sings the Gershwin Song Book – 1959
Ella Fitzgerald – Sings the George and Ira Gershwin Songbook

First Listen
Yes

Prior knowledge of this album
None

Standout Tracks
Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off
Nice Work if You Can Get It
They All Laughed
Of Thee I Sing (Baby)
Slap That Bass
They Can’t Take That Away From Me
I Got Rhythm
Cheerful Little Earful

Afterthoughts
So. Many. Songs. 57 of them to be exact.

Working on an average of 12 songs to an album, that’s nearly 5 albums of songs.

This being a Gershwin album, there really isn’t a bad song among them. Lots have featured in musicals and films over the years.

Ella Fitzgerald has a really great voice, one that you can listen to and never get bored with, which is good as this album clocks in at over 3 hours.

I was familiar with some of the songs from films and just generally being alive for 36 years. The songs I selected as standouts reflect that.

The strangest song on the album is ‘Treat Me Rough’. It’s a song about a privileged girl who has had enough of the good life and wants a bit of fun, although the lyrics suggest that she wants a bit of the rough stuff.

The cushy sheltered way of life was really no fun
From now on, some manhandling must be done
So treat me rough, muss my hair, don’t you dare to handle me with care
I’m no innocent child

The songs finishes with this:

I’ve been pampered enough, baby
Keep on treatin’ me rough
Keep on beatin’ me
Keep on treatin’ me rough

Overall I enjoyed the process of listening to this album, it’s not one I would return to for a couple of reasons. Firstly this isn’t the kind of music I would listen to for fun, the occasional song yes but complete albums no. Secondly, it’s just too long!

Hear again
No

Album Entertainment Rating
4 out of 5