1001 Albums #20 – Ray Charles / The Genius of Ray Charles

Ray Charles – The Genius of Ray Charles – 1959
Ray Charles – The Genius Of Ray Charles

First Listen
Yes

Prior knowledge of this album
None

Standout Tracks
Let The Good Times Roll
Alexander’s Ragtime Band
You Won’t Let Me Go
Am I Blue

Afterthoughts
My introduction to Ray Charles was The Blues Brothers; that Ray was 50, this Ray is 29.

From what I’ve read, Ray Charles at this time had only just ‘made it’ in the eyes of white folks. His song ‘What I’d Say’ had been a hit and he was finally accepted.

The first half of the album (side A if you will) is up tempo followed by a much slower ballad section for the second half. I’m still rubbish at pigeon holing music, but I would hazard a guess that this is R&B mixed with Jazz.

There are those Jazz elements that I’m not keen on, the song ‘Two Years of Torture’ features some wibbly wobbly Jazz, that I just don’t like at all.

I’ve only got a few Ray Charles songs in my music library and I think I need to listen to him a bit more. I’m familiar with ‘What I’d Say’, Georgia On My Mind’, ‘Hit The Road Jack’, ‘I Got a Woman’ & ‘Shake A Tail Feather’ – there’s so much more to him than those tracks.

I really enjoyed this album and will be listening again.

Hear again
Yes

Album Entertainment Rating
4 out of 5