1001 Albums – The 1950’s

For those not familiar with why I’m doing this; it’s because a few years ago I bought a book called ‘1001 albums you must hear before you die’, it’s one of a series of books covering; music, film, books & paintings. I saw it in a sale and thought why not, it then sat on a shelf where I would occasionally dip into it but that was about as far as it went.

One day I was having a tidy and a dust (a rare event!) and saw the book and opened it to the first album in the list which is Frank Sinatra – In The Wee Small Hours. I listened to the album and went onto the next one. Around the same time I had been listening to various albums and posting my thoughts on a forum, that got to the point where I was listening to too much music and not posting anything.

So I decided to listen to the albums in the book and add my thoughts to my blog, which was a bit barren at that time.

I started the challenge in February of this year. It was my intention to listen to a few albums a week before posting my thoughts.

That started to go wrong as a number of the albums are jazz albums, and I’m not keen on jazz which made it very heavy going. It turned from a challenge I’d set myself to hear more music, to one where I stopped listening to music.

Today I have finally finished the 1950’s.

There were 23 albums by 21 different artists. Frank Sinatra and Miles Davis both had two albums in this section.

Gary’s listening entertainment rating 5 – 0
Gary’s listening entertainment rating 4 – 11
Gary’s listening entertainment rating 3 – 7
Gary’s listening entertainment rating 2 – 3
Gary’s listening entertainment rating 1 – 2

My favourite album was Marty Robbins – Gunfighter Ballads and Trail Songs.

Other favourites include:

The Crickets – The “Chirping” Crickets
Frank Sinatra – Songs For Swingin’ Lovers
Louis Prima – The Wildest!
Elvis Presley – Elvis Presley

When I started I had expected, Elvis or The Crickets or maybe Little Richard to come out on top, but it was the western stylings of Marty Robbins that won the decade for me. The combination of the music, the lyrics which I don’t normally go for and his voice/singing style just won me over and I’ve listened to it twice today, and I expect to do so again soon.

I haven’t particularly enjoyed listening to this section as a whole but I’ve listened to artists that I wouldn’t have even thought to listen to if not for this book, including; Marty Robbins, Louis Prima, Sarah Vaughan, Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holliday.

I’m keeping a playlist track of all the tracks that I deem to be standouts, it’s a Spotify playlist and if you want to hear/see those I’ve picked then click on this link – 1001 Standout

Onwards to the Sixties!