Whose Team Are You On?

On Friday a film series will come to an end. No doubt breaking hearts and box office records all in one go.

I am of course talking about the Twilight series. The first book was published in 2005 and became a smash hit; it was followed by three others each published a year apart.

Following the success of the Harry Potter film adaptations, the books were always destined for the big screen, and like Harry Potter the final book has been split into two separate films.

As with the books, the films have also been released in consecutive years; beginning with Twilight in 2008, New Moon in 2009, Eclipse in 2010, Breaking Dawn: Part 1 in 2011 and this final chapter Breaking Dawn: Part 2 this week.

I’ve not read further than the first few chapters of Twilight so I don’t have any direct connection or emotion about this series coming to an end, but I am a film fan and will watch just about anything.

When Twilight was released for rental in 2009, I watched it and thought it was okay, nothing earth shattering and I did get have a laugh at the ‘sparkly’ vampire played by Robert Pattinson. When the subsequent films were released I ignored them but resolved to watch the complete series once it was all over.

Which brings me to this week and this post.

For me this week is renamed ‘Twilight Series/Saga Week’. As I watch the films, one a day, leading up to the final installment, which I will go and see at the cinema. Yes, even I can’t quite believe that I will be going to see a Twilight film, on opening day, at the cinema, but then I did pay to see High School Musical 3 at the cinema on opening day. Is there any hope left for me?

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Whose Team Are You On?

  1. I feel your pain. I don’t see many movies but I read anything and everything which is how I read all 7 Harry Potter books and all 4 Twilight saga books. Then of course, I had to see the movies . . . It’s a bit of a curse.

  2. As I said I’ve not read the Twilight books but I have read all the Harry Potter’s at least once. I’ve also been re-watching the Potter films over the past two weeks, when I’m done I will have seen all but the last one at least three times. They a decent good vs. evil tale.

    Twilight is okay so far, not great and I can’t see myself ever wanting to watch them again!

Comments are closed.