Planning a Trip

I’m unemployed and have been for 10 months now and I’m kind of enjoying it. It’s affording me the opportunity to travel if I so wish, and travel I have, just not as much as I envisaged this time a year ago.

The main reason for that is money, although I was given a redundancy payment, I know it won’t last forever, so I have been careful with it. The quicker it dwindles, the quicker I have to find a job. By my reckoning if I want to have ‘money for a rainy day’ I need to be looking for work from September onwards.

So before I rejoin the rat race, it’s time to plan another jaunt.

Last year I went camping for a few weeks through Somerset, Devon & Cornwall. I ended up at Sennen near to Land’s End for a few days. As is the thing to do at Land’s End I had my photo taken at the sign.DSC_0357Which prompted two things:
1. I got a haircut!
2. I resolved that I would journey to John O’Groats within a year.

Well that year will be up in a few months so the trip I’m planning is to drive to Scotland, taking in a few places along the way. I’ve been thinking about this trip on and off for a few months now. I thought about taking the sleeper train from London to Fort William and hiring a car but that seemed like an easy option. For a long time my plan was to drive from my home in Wales to Scotland but after a brief conversation with an old friend I’m now leaning towards doing the whole end-to-end trip instead, but over two weeks to spread out the miles, as I will be alone.

I only have a rough plan at the moment, and it is very rough but here it is. The trip will take place in early June.

Day 1 – Drive from Brecon to Falmouth
Day 2 – Stay in Falmouth. I visited last year for a few hours and I didn’t get to see Pendennis Castle or have a good look around, it’s a lovely place and only an hour from Land’s End. Rick Stein has a posh chippy there too.
Day 3 – Drive from Falmouth to Land’s End. Get my photo at the sign. Drive from Land’s End to Burnham-on-Sea and stay overnight at my Sisters home. I’ve not asked her yet..so if she’s reading this..erm Hi!
Day 4 – Drive Burnham-on-Sea to Kendal
Day 5 – Kendal to Keswick to Lockerbie to Fort William. The stop in Keswick is to see the Pencil Museum as featured in the British film ‘Sightseers’. Lockerbie is to see the memorial for the plane bombing victims, I saw the American memorial Cairn in Arlington Cemetery when I was in Washington D.C. last year.
Day 6 – Fort William to Drumnadrochit on Loch Ness.
Day 7 – Relax after all those miles! Maybe a trip on the Loch & the Culloden battlefield is close by.
Day 8 – Drumnadrochit to John O’Groats. Get a picture with the sign.
Day 9 – John O’Groats to Drumnadrochit

From there it gets a bit sketchy! I’ve been told to cross into England via Carter Bar and I would like to see Hadrian’s Wall, Thirsk (James Herriot), Harrogate (Where I was born), Crich Tramway Museum (Sightseers) & that may be more than enough, perhaps too much for one trip.

That’s where I’m at currently. I will continue to plan and assess and plan and tinker and plan some more through the next few weeks before I make a final decision as to what I’m going to do.

If you have any bright ideas let me know!