Horror Challenge Week Two

This week I saw nine horror films and despite my aversion to the genre, I still haven’t been that scared. Perhaps I’m watching the wrong kind of horror?

The one film this week that made me jump and cower, was Arachnophobia. I’ve seen it before but that was around its release in 1990, it had that affect on me, as I don’t like spiders and there are lots in this film, they run and most importantly, they jump towards people and the camera/screen. So that was a fun but jumpy experience.

Here’s a look at the films I’ve watched so far and how I’ve ranked them on Letterboxd.

Week2 a Week2 b

The individual rankings are (new films in bold):

5 Stars

4 Stars
The Evil Dead (1981)
Scream

Re-Animator
The Fly (1958)

3 Stars
Arachnophobia
John Dies at the End
Candyman
Leprechaun
The Fly (1986)
Hellraiser
Children of the Corn
Christine

2 Stars
Species
The People under the Stairs

Pet Sematary
Frankenstein (1994)

1 Star

Films coming up this week include: I Know What You Did Last Summer, The Faculty, The Blair Witch Project, American Psycho, The Others, Ghosts of Mars, House of 1000 Corpses & Dawn of the Dead (2004).