Reading Challenge – January update

I read four books in 2014, a paltry amount to some but a mountainous task to others. I set myself a challenge of reading twenty books but never really got off the ground.

Once again I have a target of twenty books and I’m very pleased to say, that my target will be reached.

This month I’ve read five books and finished off another I started last year.

The books I read where:

Odds On by Michael Crichton writing as John Lange
Water Witch by Connie Willis
James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl
The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
Elliot Allagash by Simon Rich
Tales From The Vicarage edited by Lionel Birnie

Reading those books has given me some more reading challenges to keep me occupied. The books by Chrichton, Willis, Dahl, Marlowe and Rich, are the authors debut novels. Whilst I may not get through all of the books by Crichton & Willis, I’m intending to read all eight novels featuring detective Philip Marlowe written by Chandler by the end of this year, along with the children’s books of Dahl.

I enjoyed reading all the books, and I enjoyed the variety of stories. I primarily like science fiction, however I’ve enjoyed the two crime novels and Simon Rich’s book which was so easy to read and funny, that I went through it in a few days.

I like lists so let’s put these books in order of my enjoyment:

1. Elliot Allagash
2. Odds On
3. The Big Sleep
4. James and the Giant Peach
5. Water Witch
6. Tales From The Vicarage

The book I’m reading now is Doctor Who: Ten Little Aliens by Stephen Cole. I’m never quite sure what I’m going to read next but I bought the latest Ben Elton book in the January sales so it could be that.