Cardiff MoRun 10k

We are MoRunners!

On Sunday morning Sarah and I ran our third MoRun at Bute Park in Cardiff. This year we both ran the 10k. In previous years Sarah has run the 5k.

We were also joined by Sarah’s brother Kevin for his first organised event, he started running in late summer and is already looking ahead to more events.

The Cardiff event has grown in popularity since our first event in 2014. Meaning that the paths are congested with runners and members of the public using the park.

I spent most of the first mile and a half on the grass running passed slower runners on the paths.

Another complication is that both the 5k & 10k are run on the same route (2 laps for 10k). The 10k’ers were set off about 10 minutes after the 5k’ers so we caught up those who were struggling and walking before a lap had been completed, which further added to the congestion.

This is not written to put down or disparage the 5k’ers who walked, far from it, I couldn’t run 5k when I began running either, it is however a mark of the events success and something the organisers need to think about for the 2017 event. I’ve seen comments from other Cardiff MoRunners who echoe my thoughts.

Other than congestion, the event us brilliantly organised, right from the sign up process, website, emails and helpful staff and marshalling on the day.

We had lovely weather too, bright sunshine and the temperature was good. I ran in a t-shirt and shorts, previously I’ve worn running tights and a long top, so a vast improvement over previous years. I’m not turning this into a fashion blog but Sarah and Kevin decided to keep wrapped up in running tights and tops!

I was hoping for a Personal Best (PB) but that wasn’t to be. I got my PB at last years event; 47:40.

The results for us were:

Gary 48:05

Kevin 1:01:04 PB

Sarah 1:07:41 PB

Sarah beat her time of 1:14:21 from the Norwich 10k which we ran in August this year.

We’ve added another event to run before the year is out. A 5 mile night run over the Severn Bridge. We have both run over the bridge previously as part of the Severn Bridge Half Marathon, so we are looking forward to the different experience of a cold and dark run!