London Marathon – Training Weeks Five & Six

I’ve already got slack and fallen behind in the updating of the blog!

As I type, it’s Wednesday of Week Seven and I’ve come back from a long run. I will get ahead of myself and start a draft that once this once is posted.

Mileage for Week Five
Mon – 0 miles
Tue – 3.2 miles with Sarah
Wed – 4.4 miles Instagram
Thu – 0 miles
Fri – 2.5 miles
Sat – 6.2 miles with Sarah
Sun – 9.2 miles Instagram
Total – 25.8 miles

Week five on the plan was a quieter week, which I was doing well at until I joined Sarah for a 6.2 mile run on what should have been a rest day for me!

On Wednesday I ran almost flat out to The Bin, a distance of 2 miles if taken straight through the town. Pace averaged around 7:15 which was spectacular considering I haven’t run that fast for a while. On the way back I tried some fartlek between the lamp posts and to be honest that combined with the speedy start, took the juice right out of my legs.

The long run on Sunday was good but oh so cold. It was cold to begin with and it just got colder. I made the error of not taking my gloves, by the time I got home my hands would barely work! I got home and got straight into bed to warm up.

 

Mileage for Week Five
Mon – 0 miles
Tue – 4.5 miles
Wed – 4.8 miles
Thu – 0 miles
Fri – 5.2 miles with Kevin
Sat – 13.2 miles Instagram
Sun – 0 miles
Total – 27.9 miles

The first run this week was a slog. I remember looking at my watch and feeling like I had already run 5 miles but the readout was only 1.8! I plodded around the route and got the run done. A run is better than no run.

I’ve noted on Strava that the heel pain that I’ve had was becoming annoying. It’s still there and still bothering me but not as much. I have tried to stretch my calves a bit more but I still need to work on them.

I moved the long run from Sunday to Saturday in order to give my heel a bit more rest. On the plan the run was ‘Run 10 miles’ but I knew my legs were capable of more, so went out with the aim to run the half marathon distance.

To do this and not lose too much of our Saturday, I woke up at 4am to eat and then went to run at 6am. This meant that I was back around 8am and the day wasn’t wasted!

Once again my idea was to run 9 minute miles which I did mostly for nine miles; dipping under for three of nine. Once it became clear that I could probably go under two hours, I started to race the clock and made it home in 1:58:04.

On Strava I have written “I won’t be able to do that in the longer runs coming up but it’s nice to know there is something in the legs to push the pace if I need to.”

Well I can say now that I can and I can’t do that on the longer runs. Today in week 7, I ran 16 miles at a quicker average pace than that run… So I know I can do it but there’s no way I could add on another 10 miles to it! It’s good to know that if I pace the first half of the marathon correctly, I can then go for it for the second half.

See you soon 🙂